Aura Security Setup

For any store owner, and in fact with any software system that deals with financial data, a good security policy is extremely important. Due to the fact that many people in a store environment will need to use the Aura system, it’s important to be able to control access to information and abilities, and then be able to review user activity and adjust the system accordingly.  


The Aura point of sale system provides the tools to be able to do this effectively for your store. This guide will take you through the steps of a recommended security setup, and explains how to review and analyse user activity. Please note that this is a general recommendation, please feel free to modify it based on your needs, and be sure to consult the Aura product manuals for more detailed information on these different areas and reports.


Access Permissions

The first step in creating a security policy is assigning different levels of access to each category of employee that uses Aura. This way you can make sure that the cashier has access to make sales but not access Backoffice, and  that managers have access to what they need to do their jobs while keeping sensitive information private. Permissions are assigned by category instead of each employee individually.


Every action in Aura that requires a user password (or a fingerprint if fingerprint scanners are used) is known as an Access Permission. The bolded text is the name of the permission that requires the password.



In this example, To View or Change Global Settings is the name of this particular permission, and the name that will appear in the Access Permissions screen and Activity reports.


Access Permission Setup

To configure your access permissions, open Backoffice, and click Preferences > Access Permissions.


To assign an access permission, select the Category you want to edit in the left window. On the right, the permissions are divided into Allowed and Prohibited.


  1. Select the category you want to edit the permissions for

  2. If you want to deny a permission, select it from the Allowed (top) window and click the Deny button AP05 - Deny.png to move it down to Prohibited (DO NOT use Deny All).

  3. If you want to allow a permission, select it from the Prohibited (bottom) window and click the Grant button AP05 - Grant.png to move it up to Allowed (DO NOT use Grant All).

  4. The list of permissions can be filtered using the Search bar to find permissions regarding the same topic.

  1. These groups can be added individually as above or the entire group can be allowed or denied using  Deny all or Grant all.

  2. Any errors that are made can be undone using the Rollback button at the bottom of the screen to revert the changes to the point they were at when the screen was first opened.


Here is a list of recommended access levels for each category.

Restricted Employee Categories

After assigning permissions, it’s important to be able to prevent an employee from simply editing or changing their category to allow them more access under the Employee screen. To do this we have created the ability to restrict the access to some categories from others. In Backoffice, click Preferences > Restricted Employee Categories.



  1. Select the category you want to apply restrictions to (i.e Manager)

  2. By default, all other categories will be listed under Unrestricted. Click [<] to move the categories to Restricted (i.e For our Manager we have made the categories Fanchisee and Manager restricted)

  3. Click Close to save the changes.


Now if anyone in that category tries to modify the employee settings of an employee of the restricted category, they will see the following alert:



 If someone from a category in which categories are restricted tries to create a new employee, they will only have unrestricted categories available to them: